I went to the doctor last Wednesday. I weigh 184 pounds at 5'8" tall. My A1C is 10.0. For those of you non-diabetics, this is my 3 month sugar average. This is bad. It means that my average is 240. Here is where I found a chart that converts A1C to our normal readings on our monitors. http://www.elviradarknight.com/diabetes/a1cnumbers.html I need to get this number 10 down to 7 or lower.
I know that this may all sound like a dream to many diabetics. I know that my diabetes is not as bad as most of yours; however, diabetes is still horrible no matter. Maybe those people who blame the diabetic for their disease, will take a hard look at themselves and see that they aren't that different from me. Hopefully, they will make the connection and see that NO diabetic is at fault for getting a disease and see how hard it is to control this evil illness that kills millions yearly.
Keep trying. I am.
I am trying to get back on track and healthy without whining lol. Life is a comedy if you choose it to be.
Sunday, October 24, 2010
This is why I give up.
I think this will sound familiar if you are a diabetic. Woke up shot my insulin. My sugar was at 181 fasting which didn't surprise me because I haven't had it under control for months. It should be under 120 for a diabetic. Ate a Chorizo and Egg burrito for breakfast. The only food that concerned me in that was the tortilla, the rest was protein and veggie. I took my two-hour-after-breakfast reading and it was 246. That isn't right. It makes me feel like what's the point, but I did fine for lunch with cheese and meat only. Hopefully my readings get closer to normal the longer I go. I would love to eat some candycorn about now lol. Diabetic coma anyone?
Saturday, October 23, 2010
Rookie Blogger
Ok, so I am just creating this and it is after 11pm. I just want to get my feet wet. (While I can still feel them!) I'm 43. I'm a mom, teacher, and wife. (Order changes from time to time.) I have Type II Diabetes that is not under control, and I'm not going to whine.
I LOVE food even though most of it is poison to me. I am going to fight my way through this because I don't want to die. I have had Type II for about 9 years. Diabetes runs in my family, and I had Gestational Diabetes when I was pregnant. I used to be able to control it with diet, but now I have to shoot insulin.
I really hate it when people who don't know any better decide to blame the diabetic for their condition. I will admit that I have been terrible in controlling my diet for the past few months, but because I felt like I HAD no control, I LOST all control.
This blog is my attempt to get some control back. I put "No Whiners" in my title because I don't want to be a whiner, not because I didn't want anyone to whine to me about their situation. I don't mind listening so much, but I had fallen into feeling sorry for myself. I don't want to whine anymore. I am tired of feeling like crap, and it is my responsibility to take care of my body so that I don't die before I get to meet my grandchildren.
I want to live and be active. I am not obese but I am heavy. Size 16. I am going to try whatever it takes to get my control back. I want to share what I do and how it works. I hope my experience can help me feel that I am an active participant in my health instead of a passive observer in the demise of my body. I will not "go gentle into that goodnight." (I know that was a little dramatic, but I love that poem.) Goodnight for now. (Irony completely intended)
I LOVE food even though most of it is poison to me. I am going to fight my way through this because I don't want to die. I have had Type II for about 9 years. Diabetes runs in my family, and I had Gestational Diabetes when I was pregnant. I used to be able to control it with diet, but now I have to shoot insulin.
I really hate it when people who don't know any better decide to blame the diabetic for their condition. I will admit that I have been terrible in controlling my diet for the past few months, but because I felt like I HAD no control, I LOST all control.
This blog is my attempt to get some control back. I put "No Whiners" in my title because I don't want to be a whiner, not because I didn't want anyone to whine to me about their situation. I don't mind listening so much, but I had fallen into feeling sorry for myself. I don't want to whine anymore. I am tired of feeling like crap, and it is my responsibility to take care of my body so that I don't die before I get to meet my grandchildren.
I want to live and be active. I am not obese but I am heavy. Size 16. I am going to try whatever it takes to get my control back. I want to share what I do and how it works. I hope my experience can help me feel that I am an active participant in my health instead of a passive observer in the demise of my body. I will not "go gentle into that goodnight." (I know that was a little dramatic, but I love that poem.) Goodnight for now. (Irony completely intended)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)